The Milford Track New Zealand, 2018


LIVE OUT LOUD ADVENTURES
is going to Magnificent New Zealand!

Yes, we’re hiking the beautiful Milford Track and the spectacular Tuatapere Hump Ridge Track, two of the “world’s finest walks”.

Staying in wilderness lodges, we’ll walk 53.5km to Milford Sound, the magestic Fjord described by Rudyard Kipling as the 8th Wonder of the World. We’ll hike, kayak in Milford Sound and then hike some more: another 62km on the Tuatapere Hump Ridge Track. The Hump Ridge Track is one of New Zealand’s newest epic walking adventures along the pristine southern edge of Fiordland.

Winding across some of New Zealand’s wildest land, the track leads hikers through parts of Fiordland National Park, along an alpine ridge, through both ancient and regenerating forest, across Maori land and along deserted coastline.”

 

ITINERARY

Saturday January 20 : Depart Toronto at 20:15

Sunday January 21: TRAVEL

Monday January 22: Arrive in Sydney at 10:25

  • Fly Sydney to Auckland, 11:50. Arrive in Auckland at 17:00
  • Overnight in Auckland

Tuesday January 23: Depart Auckland to Queenstown

  • Pre Track Briefing at 4:45pm
  • Welcome Dinner
  • Overnight in Queenstown

Wednesday January 24: Milford Track

  • Board a coach to Te Anau
  • Overnight at Glade House, Fiordland National Park

Thursday January 25: Milford Track – Day 1

  • Hike from Glade House to Pompolona Lodge
  • 16km
  • Overnight at Pompolona Lodge

Friday January 26: Milford Track – Day 2

  • Hike from Pompolona Lodge to Quintin Lodge via MacKinnon Pass
  • 15km
  • Overnight at Quintin Lodge

Saturday January 27: Milford Track – Day 3

  • Hike from Quintin Lodge to Mitre Peak Lodge via Sandfly Point
  • 21km
  • Overnight at Mitre Peak Lodge

Sunday January 28: Milford Sound – Day 4

  • Boat Cruise on the Milford Sound
  • Overnight at the Milford Sound Lodge

Monday January 29: Milford Sound Kayaking

  • Enjoy a day of kayaking on the majestic Milford Sound among the waterfalls, the rainforests, the fur seals, and the crested penguins.
  • Overnight in Te- Anau

Tuesday January 30: Travel to Tuatapere

  • Pre walk briefing
  • Overnight in Tuatapere

Wednesday January 31: Hump Ridge Track – Day 1

  • Rarakau to Okaka Lodge
  • 22km
  • Overnight in Okaka

Thursday February 1: Hump Ridge Track – Day 2

  • Okaka Lodge to Port Craig
  • 20km
  • Overnight in Port Craig

Friday February 2: Hump Ridge Track – Day 3

  • Port Craig to Rarakau
  • 20km
  • Overnight in Queenstown

Saturday February 3: Queenstown

  • Fly Queenstown to Auckland
  • Overnight in Auckland

Sunday February 4: Fly Home – Auckland to Sydney to Toronto

TRIP DETAILS

DATES

Saturday January 20 to Sunday February 4, 2018

EXPEDITION COSTS

$6,900 CDN + HST. All expenses paid excluding Airfares (to/from Auckland, and, to/from Queenstown).

April 28, 2017 – Deposit: $2,000 CDN
June 30, 2017 – 1st Payment: $2,900 CDN
Sept. 29, 2017 – Final Payment: $2,000 CDN + HST

Please make cheques payable to Suvara Travels Canada. Money orders or cheques can be mailed to 49 Elm Avenue, Toronto, M4W 1N6